Open letter to imprisoned journalists and media workers in Belarus

Belarusian journalists in prison

21 May 2022, Brussels

Dear Belarusian journalists and media workers, (in Belarusian below)

On this day, we remember Vitold Ashurak, and call for an enquiry into the circumstances and cause of his death in prison.

On this day also, the European Union remembers your own imprisonment and suffering. We wish to assure you that we continue to raise at every opportunity, all those who have been imprisoned in Belarus, for doing their job as a journalist or for speaking out about the political circumstances in Belarus.

Over the past several months, we have been bringing to the attention of the authorities in Belarus and that of the wider world, the dire prison conditions which you are enduring.

We repeat our call for the immediate and unconditional release of all political prisoners.

Your continued imprisonment demonstrates, not the strength of the Lukashenko regime, but its weakness, because it fears the truth and it cannot handle freedom of expression.

I realise that this is a difficult time for you, your family and your friends. I want you to know that your European family stands by you in the quest for democracy. I am confident that this effort shall prevail.

I wish you well personally and I assure you that we will continue our efforts to secure your freedom.

Yours sincerely,

Eamon Gilmore

EU Special Representative for Human Rights


Names of imprisoned journalists and media workers in Belarus:

    1. Katsiaryna Andreyeva, journalist
    2. Darya Chultsova, journalist
    3. Ihar Losik, blogger and media consultant
    4. Siarhei Hardziyevich, journalist
    5. Kseniya Lutskina, journalist
    6. Andrei Aliaksandrau, journalist and media manager
    7. Dzianis Ivashyn, investigative journalist
    8. Andrzej Poczobut, journalist
    9. Maryna Zolatava, editor and media manager
    10. Liudmila Chekina, media manager
    11. Alena Talkachova, journalist
    12. Valeryia Kastsiuhava, blogger, editor, political scientist
    13. Aliaksandr Ivulin, journalist
    14. Yahor Martsinovich, journalist, editor, media manager
    15. Andrei Skurko, editor, media manager
    16. Iryna Leushyna, journalist, media manager
    17. Dzmitry Navazhylau, media manager
    18. Henadz Mazheika, journalist
    19. Iryna Slaunikava, media manager
    20. Andrei Kuznechyk, journalist
    21. Siarhei Satsuk, investigative journalist, editor
    22. Aleh Hruzdzilovich, journalist
    23. Aksana Kolb, journalist, media manager
    24. Yury Hantsarevich, journalist
    25. Dzmitry Luksha, journalist
    26. Kanstantsin Zalatykh, media manager



21 May is the Day of the Political Prisoner in Belarus.

On this day last year, the activist Vitold Ashurak died in prison under suspicious circumstances. The cause of death has not yet been established. The autocratic regime of Aleksandr Lukashenko has imprisoned thousands of people for political reasons. Currently over 1200 persons behind bars are recognised as political prisoners. Some of them were convicted for attending protests, others are volunteers, coordinators, civil society leaders and political activists seeking a free and democratic Belarus. Currently 26 media workers and journalists are in prison for doing their duty – reporting the facts. Now, they have been cut off from society and labelled “extremists”, “a danger to society”, and much more. In jail under false, made-up charges, they suffer inhumane and degrading treatment, some even torture.

It is even more concerning that recently the Lukashenko regime introduced the death penalty for “attempted acts of terrorism”, giving the possibility for further serious abuse. Many of the accused are tried in secret, unfair and biased trials, often under fabricated charges and with no legal safeguards. Now they also risk the death penalty.

Today, I am writing to the imprisoned media workers and journalists to express my support and solidarity. These political prisoners must know that we have not forgotten them. After falsifying the presidential elections in 2020, Lukashenko continues his war against the Belarusian society. We stand against the repressive regime of Lukashenko, which not only violates human rights of its own people, but also supports and abets Russia’s illegal invasion of Ukraine.

Join me in showing support and solidarity to the 1200+ political prisoners. Write to them, let them know that their suffering will not be in vain. Read more about the political prisoners and learn how to write to them here.


In Belarusian below: 

21 мая 2022 года, Брусель

Шаноўныя беларускія журналісты і працаўнікі СМІ,

У гэты дзень мы ўспамінаем Вітольда Ашурка і заклікаем да расследавання абставін і прычыны яго смерці ў турме.

Таксама Еўрапейскі саюз памятае пра вашае зняволенне і вашыя пакуты. Мы хацелі б запэўніць вас, што мы працягваем пры кожнай магчымасці звяртаць увагу да ўсіх, хто зняволены ў Беларусі за выкананне сваёй працы журналіста ці за выказванні пра палітычную сітуацыю ў Беларусі.

На працягу апошніх некалькіх месяцаў мы звяртаем увагу ўлад Беларусі і ўсяго свету на цяжкія ўмовы ўтрымання, у якіх вы знаходзіцеся.

Мы зноў заклікаем да неадкладнага і безумоўнага вызвалення ўсіх палітзняволеных. Ваша працяглае турэмнае зняволенне дэманструе не сілу рэжыма Лукашэнкі, а яго слабасць, бо такі рэжым баіцца праўды і не можа існаваць разам са свабодай слова.

Я ўсведамляю, як цяжка вам, вашым сем’ям і сябрам. Я хачу, каб вы ведалі, што ваша еўрапейская сям’я падтрымлівае вас у імкненні да дэмакратыі. Я ўпэўнены, што гэтыя намаганні будуць паспяховымі.

Зычу вам усяго найлепшага і запэўніваю, што мы працягнем прыкладаць намаганні, каб абараніць вашу свабоду.

З павагай,

Эйман Гілмар,

Спецыяльны прадстаўнік ЕС па правах чалавека


Імёны зняволеных журналістаў і працаўнікоў СМІ ў Беларусі:

  1. Кацярына Андрэева, журналіст
  2. Дар’я Чульцова, журналіст
  3. Ігар Лосік, блогер, медыя-кансультант
  4. Сяргей Гардзіевіч, журналіст
  5. Ксенія Луцкіна, журналіст
  6. Андрэй Аляксандраў, журналіст, медыяменеджар
  7. Дзяніс Івашын, журналіст
  8. Андрэй Пачобут, журналіст
  9. Марына Золатава, рэдактар, медыяменеджар
  10. Людміла Чэкіна, медыяменеджар
  11. Алена Талкачова, журналіст
  12. Валерыя Касцюгава, рэдактар, палітолаг
  13. Аляксандр Івулін, журналіст
  14. Ягор Марціновіч, рэдактар, медыяменеджар
  15. Андрэй Скурко, журналіст, медыяменеджар
  16. Ірына Леўшына, медыяменеджар
  17. Дзмітрый Наважылаў, медыяменеджар
  18. Генадзь Мажэйка, журналіст
  19. Ірына Слаўнікава, медыяменеджар
  20. Андрэй Кузнечык, журналіст
  21. Сяргей Сацук, рэдактар, журналіст
  22. Алег Груздзіловіч, журналіст
  23. Аксана Колб, рэдактар, журналіст
  24. Юрый Ганцарэвіч, журналіст
  25. Дзмітрый Лукша, журналіст
  26. Канстанцін Залатых, медыяменеджар